Mission & Structure

Our mission

Our mission as foresters is to be responsible stewards of the earth’s forests while meeting society’s vital needs. The challenge of our mission lies in keeping forest ecosystems healthy and intact while concurrently drawing on their resources. We will meet this challenge by carefully monitoring and managing the effects of natural and human forces on the forest. Our decisions will be guided by our professional knowledge, our compassion for all living things, our desire to improve citizens’ lives, and our respect and concern for the entire forest ecosystem. By advancing forestry science, education, technology and the practice of forestry, the New England Society of American Foresters will provide the leadership to achieve its mission.

National – SAF

The Society of American Foresters (SAF) is a national scientific and educational association representing the forestry profession in the United States. Founded in 1900 by Gifford Pinchot, it is the largest professional society for foresters in the world. The mission of the Society of American Foresters is to advance the science, education, technology, and practice of forestry; to enhance the competency of its members; to establish professional excellence; and, to use the knowledge, skills, and conservation ethic of the profession to ensure the continued health and use of forest ecosystems and the present and future availability of forest resources to benefit society. SAF is a nonprofit organization meeting the requirements of 501 (c) (3). SAF members include natural resource professionals in public and private settings, researchers, CEOs, administrators, educators, and students. 

Regional – NESAF

The New England Society of American Foresters (NESAF) is a multi- state society within the national Society of American Foresters. NESAF is composed of four divisions representing the six New England states of Connecticut (CT), Maine (ME), Massachusetts (MA), New Hampshire (NH), Rhode Island (RI), and Vermont (VT). The Divisions are Green Mountain (VT), Granite State (NH), Maine (ME) and Yankee (RI, CT and MA). Those SAF members residing in the Eastern Canadian Provinces of New Brunswick, Newfoundland, Nova Scotia, Prince Edward Island, and Quebec are may also request membership in the New England Society of American Foresters.

Local – NESAF Divisions & Chapters

NESAF is composed of four divisions representing the six New England states. The Divisions are each overseen by a state executive committee. The Yankee Division is comprised of the MA, CT, and RI Chapters and together the host the NESAF Annual meeting every 4 years.

Contact Us

To contact NESAF, please email the appropriate member of our Board of Directors. General questions can be directed to our Chair or the website administrator at webadmin@nesaf.org.


New England Society of American Foresters
54 Portsmouth Street
Concord, NH 03301